City News


Posted on: February 22, 2021

Ellis County Approved for Storm-Related Assistance


Ellis County is one of the 77 Texas counties approved by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for emergency aid for damages resulting from the severe winter storm that began Feb. 11, 2021. Here are steps to take to start the recovery process:

Step One: Take photos of damages to homes and belongings.

Step Two: Make a list of damaged/lost items.

Step Three: Those with insurance, must file a claim with their insurance company. If no insurance, then continue to Step Four.

Step Four: To apply for disaster assistance or to get more information on the types of assistance available, use one of the following methods:

Internet or Smartphone Application

Apply for the Individuals and Households Program or check on application status at Access FEMA via a smartphone by downloading the application from the website or through your mobile provider’s application store.

By Phone

Call FEMA toll-free at 1-800-621-FEMA (1-800-621-3362) to apply for assistance or check on application status. 

Telephone access for those who are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability and use a Text Telephone (TTY), call 800-462-7585

To access 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), please use the standard toll-free FEMA Helpline at 1-800-621-FEMA (1-800-621-3362).

In Person

To visit a FEMA Disaster Recovery Center (DRC). To look up DRC locations: 

Disaster Survivor Assistance team members may also visit door-to-door in your area. They will have official FEMA photo identification.

By Mail or Fax 

To mail updates to your application by mail or by fax. 

Mail To:

P.O. Box 10055
 Hyattsville, MD 20782-8055

Fax To: 

Attn: FEMA


FEMA Website
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home